Rankings & Fast Facts

Fast Facts


1800+ Students from 37 Countries
44% Female Student Body
29% of Students from Underrepresented Groups
Located just outside Washington, DC


46 Active Research Grants
2 ACM Fellows
2 LJ/ALISE Excellence in Teaching Awardees
5 NSF or IMLS Career Grants


National Rankings


#2 in USA
Master of Library and Information Science Online
#4 in USA
Master of Library and Information Science
(US News & World Report)
#9 in USA
Master of Science in Human-Computer Interaction
(Value Colleges)
#3 in USA
University of Maryland as a Public University
(Princeton Review)


Faculty Recent Honors

UMD Research Communicator Impact Award
Jen Golbeck (2015)

LJ/ALISE Excellence in Teaching Award
Paul Jaeger (2015)

Library Journal Mover and Shaker Award
Anne Weeks (2016)

Emmett Leahy Award
Richard Marciano (2017)

ACM Distinguished Member Status
Niklas Elmqvist (2018)

LJ/ALISE Excellence in Teaching Award
Renee Hill (2018)

ACM Distinguished Member Status
Jen Golbeck (2018)

Inaugural Rachel Olivero Accessibility Innovation Award (NFB MD)
Jonathan Lazar (2019)

Library Journal Mover and Shaker Award
Mega Subramaniam (2019) 

YALSA Outstanding Achievement Award
Mega Subramaniam (2020)

Faculty Recent Distinguished Grants

NSF Career Award
Amanda Lazar (2021-26)

NSF Career Award
Niklas Elmqvist (2014-19)

NSF Career Award
Katie Shilton (2015-18)

NSF Career Award
Jordan Boyd Graber (2017-22)

NSF Career Award
Eun Kyoung Choe (2017-22)

NSF Career Award
Vanessa Frias-Martinez (2018-23)

Yahoo Faculty Research Award
Jenny Preece (2015)

Google Faculty Research Award
Jonathan Lazar (2019)

Minerva Grant: Impact of Emotions in Social Media Sharing
Suzannah Paletz (2019)

Fulbright Specialist Award: Library Services in Kyrgyzstan
Mega Subramaniam (2019)

NSF Grant: Building an Augmented Reality at UMD
Niklas Elmqvist (2019)

UMD Catalyst Award: Advancing Machine Translation Systems
Ge Gao (2019)

National Fed. for the Blind (NFB) Fellowship Award: Developing Accessibility-Focused Curriculum
Renee Hill (2020)

National Academy of Ed. Postdoctoral Fellowship: Critical Education Research
David Weintrop (2020)

NSF Grant: Developing Computational Models to Detect Clickbait
Naeemul Hassan (2020)

IMLS Early Career Award
Katrina Fenlon (2020)

Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Plannning Grant
Katrina Fenlon (2020)

Maryland Innovation Grant Award
Charles Harry (2020)

Laura Bush 21st Librarian Grant
Mega Subramaniam (2020)

IMLS National Leadership Grant: Capturing Computational Thinking Literacy Development in Public Libraries
Mega Subramaniam and David Weintrop (2020)

Army Research Office Grant
Susannah Paletz (2020)